Telstra wins Best Practice Excellence Award

Sydney, NSW, Australia - 22 May 2008: Telstra Corporation Limited (Telstra) was awarded the 2008 Excellence Award in the ‘Best Practices - Service Provider’ category by the TeleManagement Forum (TM Forum).

The award recognises the efforts of Telstra and IBM in using the TM Forum’s Next Generation Operations Support Systems and Software (NGOSS) standards to develop a Service-Oriented Architecture (SOA) for Telstra’s OSS transformation.

"In order to promote best practices it is critical that Service Providers request and implement industry best practices to provide the motivation and market for standards based products and processes to be implemented," said Martin Creaner, President and CTO of the TM Forum. "This year we have seen some major and highly ambitious projects in the finalist category and are thrilled that Telstra has won this prestigious category."

On accepting the award, Telstra Executive Director Network & Technology Mr Michael Lawrey said: "Telstra is half-way through one of the most complex and ambitious telecommunications transformations of its kind globally.

"We have partnered with global suppliers like IBM in our five-year transformation because they provide us with world-leading proven solutions and a focus on implementing the world’s best practice standards such as NGOSS.

"This award reflects the hard work of many of our people in continuing to find new and innovative ways to evolve industry standards and the significant business benefits of this approach in increasing flexibility and reducing operating expenses," said Mr Lawrey.

"Considering the size, complexity and schedule of Telstra’s transformation, what has been achieved by Telstra, not just through the adoption of SOA, but aligning it to NGOSS standards, is significant, and is providing considerable benefit," said Mr Peter Bittner, IBM’s Chief Architect for this aspect of Telstra’s OSS transformation.

The ‘Best Practice Service Provider’ Excellence Award winner is recognised for their revolutionary approach to business operations and leading application of TM Forum industry frameworks and business standards.

The Excellence Awards were presented on 19 May 2008 during a gala dinner at the bi-annual TM Forum Management World conference in Nice, France. Winners were selected by an independent panel of judges, comprising leading industry and subject matter experts, analysts, and media representatives.

About the TM Forum Excellence Awards  

TM Forum established the Excellence Awards program to recognise the global leader in operational excellence and acknowledge the contributions which continue to take this industry in new and innovative directions.

With approximately 600 members in 65 countries, the TeleManagement Forum is the world’s leading trade association focused on the management of telecom, media and information services. The TM Forum provides leadership, strategic guidance and practical solutions to improve the way services are created, delivered, assured and changed.

Related resources

Site links
Related XML feeds
Topics XML feeds
Business partners
No description at this time.