Skip to main content

Joanna Batstone

Vice President and Lab Director, IBM Research – Australia and Chief Technology Officer, IBM Australia and New Zealand

Full biography

Joanna L. Batstone, Ph.D., is the Vice President and Lab Director, IBM Research – Australia and Chief Technology Officer, IBM Australia and New Zealand. Most recently she was Vice President, Architecture and Technical Solution Design, IBM Global Technology Services, based in Dublin, Ireland where she led the worldwide GTS Specialty Services Areas for Storage, Security, Mainframe and Virtualization and Distributed Server Management with responsibility for the growth and technical vitality of the GTS architect community. She has held a variety of technical and business leadership roles in IBM's Research and Development Laboratories. Joanna was the Director for Distributed Computing in IBM Research in New York, USA, with worldwide strategy responsibility for Distributed Computing, managing the Research relationship with IBM Software Group’s Application Integration and Middleware team. She was the Program Director, Development, for IBM’s Sensors & Actuators business unit and a Senior Technical Staff Member, IBM Software Group. She spent 5 years as a Senior Manager for Solutions Development in IBM's Healthcare & Life Sciences Business Unit with development responsibilities for IBM's Life Sciences solutions for Pharma and Biotech. Before joining the IBM Healthcare & Life Sciences team, Batstone spent 11 years in IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, NY, in the Physical Sciences and Computer Sciences departments.

Joanna has published over 80 papers and organized many industry conference symposia. She received a B.Sc., in Chemical Physics and a Ph.D., in Physics from The University of Bristol, UK, followed by postdoctoral work at AT&T Bell Laboratories, NJ, and a Lectureship in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Liverpool, UK, before joining IBM Research. She received the ’95 Burton Medal from the Microscopy Society of America, the '91 Robert Lansing Hardy Gold Medal from The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society and the '89 Cosslett Award from the Microbeam Analysis Society.