IBM z/VSE


z/VSE V6.1 is available

IBM z/VSE V6 - What will be next

Shortly after the general availability of z/VSE V6.1, there has been a new z/VSE announcement: z/VSE V6 - What will be next. See especially the statement of general direction section regarding future z/VSE plans. These SODs address both exploitation of IBM z Systems and IBM System Storage technology as well as new capability intended for delivery in a future release of IBM CICS Transaction Server for z/VSE.

For more information, please see the announcement letter.

IBM z/VSE V6.1 is available

In continuation of these 50 years of innovation and evolution, IBM is pleased to deliver a new z/VSE version, z/VSE V6.1.

Whereas the past z/VSE versions often addressed scalability and constraint relief, z/VSE V6.1 now focuses on online transaction processing, security, and networking:

z/VSE clients may want to leverage the IBM MobileFirst Platform Foundation to develop mobile applications that interact with z/VSE. Using z/VSE connectors, mobile applications can integrate z/VSE data and applications.

IBM z/VSE V6.1 has been available since November 27, 2015.

For more information, please see the announcement letter.

IBM z13s and IBM System Storage DS8880

The IBM z13s expands the breadth of the IBM z Systems family by delivering a strong range of new smaller-capacity, attractively priced models. With the z13s, z/VSE clients can benefit from newest z Systems technology. This includes:

For more information, please see the announcement letter.

IBM System Storage DS8880 is the newest member of the DS8000 family. The IBM DS8880 family includes two high-performance models DS8884 and DS8886. The DS8884 model delivers a lower cost system and smaller scale solution.

z/VSE supports the z13, z13s and DS8880 with z/VSE V5.1 and later.

Live Virtual Classes

Live Demo: Tape-less z/VSE installation

In this session we show how to create an installation disk from an AWS tape and how to use it for z/VSE installation. We also show possible pitfalls and explore how VSEIDISK works.

Speaker: Marco Kroll, IBM
Date: Tuesday, 12 July, 2016
Time: US & Europe: 11:00 AM New York, 04:00 PM London, 05:00 PM Boeblingen, 15:00 UTC
Or: Europe & AP: 04:00 PM Japan, 07:00 UTC, 03:00 AM New York, 08:00 AM London, 09:00 AM Boeblingen
Duration: 90 Minutes

Note: Please select your time zone on the top right corner on the registration web page.

Attention: You will only need to register one time - where you will create a userid and password - please remember your userid and password to attend upcoming Adobe webcasts.

Confirmation: After completing your registration for this webcast, you will receive an invitation that includes the URL to attend this specific webcast. You will need to use your Adobe userid and password to access the live session.

Test Adobe Connection: Please test your connection to ensure you are ready to attend this event.

Adobe Connect Pro requires a web browser and the Adobe Flash Player runtime software. As a participant, you can run on Windows, Linux, or Mac. The test URL above includes the download of an "Adobe Client Add-in" because it makes the participant experience better; however it is only actually required if you are a Speaker/Presenter.

Replay: This session will be recorded and a replay will be available shortly after the session.

If you've never used Adobe Connect, get a quick overview.

 

Future Live Virtual Classes:

We are currently planning for the following future z/VSE Live Virtual Classes:

Note: All topics are subject to change.

Schedule dates and registration links will be made available about 2 weeks before the individual event.

Additional future topics will be added over time and can also by suggested via Contact z/VSE.

For replays of completed Live Virtual Classes, please see the Education web page.

Mark your calendar

The IBM z13s

  • IBM z13s

    The IBM z13s expands the breadth of the IBM z Systems family by delivering a strong range of new smaller-capacity, attractively priced models.

Featured Case Studies

  • IBM

    America First Credit Union

    Running core banking workload on z/VSE and applications on Linux with DB2.

  • IBM

    Fratelli Carli

    All the functions within Fratelli Carli are managed by the IBM mainframe, in particular through z/VSE.