Skip to main content

IBM Helps Kick Off National Engineers Week As "War for Talent" Escalates

Campaign Aims to Attract Young People to Engineering, Address Shortage of Skilled Technical Candidates

Select a topic or year


About IBM</span></strong><br /><span>IBM is the world&#039;s largest information technology company, with 80 years of leadership in helping businesses innovate. IBM creates, develops & manufactures the industry&#039;s most advanced information technologies, including computer systems, software, networking systems, storage devices & microelectronics. The fastest way to get more information about IBM is through its home page, at www.ibm.com.</span></p><p><strong><span>About NEW</span></strong><br /><span>Established by the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) in 1951, National Engineers Week is intended to increase public underst & ing of the profession through a variety of programs. Among them is the annual Future City Competition, in which teams of seventh - 21 Feb 2001:

B-roll and soundbites of IBM Chairman Lou Gerstner addressing the future engineers of America at the National Engineers Week "Future City Competition" in Washington, D.C., this morning are available via satellite uplink.

The coordinates are as follows:

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 21, 2001

TO RECEIVE BY SATELLITE: C-BAND

4 - 4:15 a.m. Eastern (1 -1:15 a.m. Pacific)
Telstar 6Transponder 8, D/L 3860 MHz (H)



TO RECEIVE BY SATELLITE: C-BAND

11-11:15 a.m. Eastern (8-8:15 a.m. Pacific)
Telstar 5 Transponder 24, D/L 4180MHz (H)

2:00 - 2:15 p.m. Eastern (11:00 - 11:15 a.m. Pacific)
Telstar5, Transponder 12 D/L 3940 MHz (H)

# # #

Related XML feeds
Topics XML feeds
Corporate
Financial news, company earnings, philanthropy, community service, human resources, sponsorship