IBM Professional Certification Program

Certify your skills. Accelerate your career.

Step-by-Step Procedure

The certification is open to all Business Partners – Systems Integrators, Distributors, Resellers, ISVs, and IT Consultants – and recognizes a certified job role for technical individuals that encompasses technical sales support and becomes part of the worldwide IT Architect profession. Customers who also decide to have in-house professional architect skills are also eligible to participate.

The IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect certification is designed to enhance the technical sales and solution design skills of an individual within the Business Partner firm to be better able to define and develop comprehensive client solutions. More comprehensive client solutions can generate greater financial results to the firm while clients can benefit by implementing leading-edge solutions that pay off faster. ISAs will develop and validate strong technical leadership skills enabling them to architect and design complex IT infrastructure solutions that include integrated multiple server platforms, software middleware, storage, and services.

Steps to get started:

Here are the steps to get started and to attain Infrastructure Systems Architect Certification:

  1. Complete and submit the short application. The application, which is essentially a self assessment against the recommended prerequisites, can be obtained in either of the following two ways:



    Download: IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect Application (.doc, 192KB)

    Note: After acceptance into the program, you are expected to complete all the following requirements within 18 months.
  2. The next step is to complete three required IBM Certifications.
    Important: Because of the sale of IBM’s low end server business to Lenovo, certifications for System x, IBM PureSystems and System Networking will no longer be accepted toward the ISA certification regardless of when they were achieved. Hardware certifications must be for Power, System z and/or Storage.

    IMPORTANT: Please note that that link contains information on sales certifications as well as on technical certifications. Only technical certifications will be accepted for this core requirement. If you have any question about the validity of a certification in fulfilling this requirement, please send a note to

    IMPORTANT: Please note that all certifications must be less than 2 years old at the time you fulfill all the ISA requirements.
  3. The next step is to complete The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) Certification. TOGAF is an industry standard architecture framework that has been developed and continuously evolved since the mid-90's by representatives of some of the world’s leading IT customer and vendor organizations.

    Information on becoming TOGAF 9 Certified can be found at

When you have completed all the steps above, please send a note to You will then be recognized with the IBM Certified for Infrastructure Systems Architects certification.



In order to maintain IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect status, it is necessary to be recertified every two years. The process involves recertification of the two technical product certifications. Alternatively, you may choose new technical product certifications using the guidelines listed in steps 2A or 2B above.


Connect with Us